Sunday, November 6, 2011
I am trying out for high school baseball this year, please help!?
So I am trying out for freshman baseball, I really hope I make the team. When I was in early middle school they had a summer league that a lot of people tried out for, but I never made the team. The rumor is that the coach wants 20 people to play, and exactly 20 people signed up to try out. Each year I get better as I play, but last year was different. I like to play 2B and SS, and throughout my childhood, I played those positions. I was very good at fielding and making diving catches. Hitting, was another story. I had trouble at it. I was never very good at it and coach always batted me 8th or 9th. But last year when I played, we moved on to the pro-sized fields and everything changed for me. I thought that since I never had any success batting right-handed, why not try out left-handed batting. I did, and my success with it led me to leadoff batter. Oh, and I forgot to mention that I am very fast, so when I get base hits, I always steal. Leadoff was nice, it put me under a bit of pressure doing something completely new: Left handed for the first time, leadoff for the first time, and pressure to make sure I don't screw up the inning leading off. But I did very well, I usually got 2 base hits each game, landing in the perfect spot, right here: http://imgur.com/tLsLt. But I do have an issue. Last year, fielding was different. The bigger fields put me under more pressure, and I made a lot of fielding mistakes. Pretty easy ground that I should have made. And also not to mention that I don't try out well, because pressure is on me that I cannot mess up, and I do mess up, like I mentioned talking about that summer league tryouts. I really want to make the team, and all my friends are trying out. What should I do? Oh, and I also pitched last year as a reliever, and I gave up just 3 hits the whole season, I am very good at pitching, I throw relatively fast for a 5'4" frame and 15 years old, and I throw a very good curve ball.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment